CDT-CMP Annual Conference 2017

The 3rd Annual CDT-CMP conference took place on the 15th September, giving members of the CMP an opportunity to showcase the exceptional work that they have been doing over the previous year. Each of the first year cohort were invited to give a 15 minute talk about the work carried out in their extended projects, with topics ranging from computational analysis of superconductors to organic spintronics.

Later year students presented their work through posters and longer talks. A special mention to third year students Joe Wilcox, Josh Robbins and Lewis Hart who each gave excellent talks about their current research. Key note speakers Dr. Mike Cooke (Oxford Instruments) and Prof. Andy Schofield (University of Birmingham) gave inspirational talks about their current cutting edge work, highlighting the importance of the CDT collaboration.

Congratulations to the prize winners for the day Paolo Abrami (best first year talk) and Lauren Cane (best poster). A big thank you to everyone that attended the event, we hope to see you again next year!


The Conference Committee (Tom Saunderson, Mara Bruma and Charlie Hall)